Sunday reflections – Bret Easton Ellis’ “Glamorama”

I finished reading Glamorama last night. I’m a fan of Bret Easton Ellis, so when I saw it for $2 at the library book store, I snatched it up. It’s an intense satire of our culture’s obsession with fashion, fame, and celebrity. Although it takes place in the mid-90’s (over ten years ago – wow, how did that happen?), it’s eerily and, in my opinion unfortunately, very relevant today. It seems to me that our obsession with celebrity has seen a dramatic revival in the last few years, and we’re now beyond our saturation level. TV and the internet are sources of constant barrages of nonsense. People can’t seem to get enough of it.

I guess there’s something wrong with me, because I have no interest whatsoever in celebrity gossip. There’s no greater waste of time for me than hearing what Perez Hilton thinks of so-and-so’s wedding, or the size of Kanye West’s new mansion. Britney Spears holds no fascination for me beyond a case study of psychosis and childhood trauma.

I feel the same way about ‘reality TV’. Why do people care which floozy a washed up front man for a horrible 80’s hair band chooses to fall in love with until the next season? These people should not be revered, they should be tarred and feathered. Brett Michaels should be in stockades in the village square, or sitting in a corner with a dunce cap on.

I’m eagerly awaiting the release of Dr. Drew’s book – The Mirror Effect: How Celebrity Narcissism Is Seducing America. As a longtime Loveline listener, I always wondered about the questionaires Drew had guests fill out. He used the data gained from them for this book.

You can pre-order Dr. Drew’s book here

Read more about Glamorama here

On a somewhat different topic, but definitely related, is this weeks essay in the New York Times Sunday book review – 1958: The War of the Intellectuals (read the essay here). I found it really interesting, particularly in regards to the critical opinions of the Beat movement at the time. I haven’t read any Kerouac or other work about the Beat movement, so I’ll reserve my judgment. However, from what I know of it I get a similar feeling that it seems overly rebellious in a very juvenile way, and vilifies the childish and emotionally stunted aspects of Bohemianism. I’ll have to educate myself on it though.

~ by miyagisan on May 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
