Oxford – Prelude

From the time I even decided to study abroad at Oxford, I imagined it beginning the moment I stepped aboard the plane. Now, obviously I wasn’t completely ignorant of the preparations required before the trip−paperwork, correspondence, packing, etc. But I had no idea that the stress would begin so soon…

Let me get some facts down first:

I’m going to spend the entire Fall 2010-Spring 2011 school year studying at Regent’s Park College−one of the 44 colleges/halls that makes up the University of Oxford. It’s an incredible opportunity; instead of slogging through another two semesters at Columbus State University, I’ll study under Oxford professors for Michaelmas, Hillary, and Trinity terms from October to June.

The Paperwork:

Oh, and it’s just beginning. First, I had my application to the program which gets sent to Oxford for final approval. I needed to write a statement of purpose for the application, and also get two letters of recommendation from professors. At the same time, I had scholarship forms to be completed and turned in.

So that was no problem. After all, it was in the Spring semester lull–after midterms but before final papers were looming. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for the mandatory study abroad meetings. These weren’t bad in and of themselves, except for the fact that they were uncomfortably and nerve-rackingly held the last week of classes and finals week.

And now we come to the present. There’s no huge, daunting deadline in my life right now. But, perhaps worse, there are a million little To-Do items. When I’m not running from Chemistry to go print out my stuff for Lab and then get to Walking so I can deal with the hypo-manic instructor, then I’m losing my wallet and then canceling all my credit cards, trying to figure out when the driver’s license office is open… and filling out more paperwork. Yes, the pre-visa process process has started and I HAVE to get my tutorials approved by the department head soon and plane tickets have to be bought now now now and ISIC cards must be bought before that and unintelligible quiz questions must be deciphered

But I digress. The point is that Oxford experience is a little more real to me now than it was two months ago.

~ by miyagisan on May 21, 2010.

2 Responses to “Oxford – Prelude”

  1. Is that a ripple or a tidal wave?

  2. I think it’s more like an incoming tide.

Leave a Reply

 
